Apple Dumplings

October 5, 2010 § 5 Comments

I went hiking on Saturday with some friends and somehow got sucked into a small town apple festival along the way. While there weren’t many unadulterated apples to be found, the festival was teeming with booths featuring gems such as these:

Of course there was also the trio of middle-aged women singing uninspired Christian lyrics to a CD. “God’s good! Yes he is! Sooo good! Absolutely, positively good! God’s good! Not just some of the time, but allllllll the time! God’s good!”

A couple of the girls split a plate of apple dumplings. They were literally balls of dough encasing whole peeled & cored apples. Tasty but heavy.

Fast-forward to Sunday

I successfully made tasty pumpkin pancakes on a whim and was feeling a bit like I had baking Midas touch. My bag of apples from last weekend’s apple picking adventure stared me down as I opened the cookbook to this:

Hmm.. why yes, I do have 6 Jonathan apples and a bit of shortening somewhere around here.

So I made apple dumplings:

I used 1/2 cup shortening instead of 2/3 and half the sugar.

They were delicious. :) The apples turned to a delightful mush and the dough remained relatively light. I prefer mine.

Tagged: ,

§ 5 Responses to Apple Dumplings

  • Meg says:

    ooh, those look awesome! They seem to be more thoroughly cooked than the ones we had.

  • Jess says:

    Those look amazing! I’m going apple picking this weekend, can you send me your recipe?? Also, what kind of apples did you use?

  • elizabethlacy says:

    I used Jonathans because they were handy. I think a sweeter apple would work better if you want to cut down on the sugar called for in the recipe.

  • Dee says:

    I die. What a fabulous dish. OK – you are totally surpassing me in this baking/cooking thing. lol! i need to learn. :P

  • Jessica says:

    Ah those look so good! So much simpler than I would have thought too. I need them in my life. =P

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Apple Dumplings at wake up, little sushi..

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

