Vanilla Bean (too many links, not enough pictures)

December 3, 2010 § 4 Comments

scary vanilla from Mexico

I love vanilla.. actual vanilla, not default plain ice cream.

Breyers Vanilla Bean ice cream

I also love hazelnuts, macadamias, almond-infused scents, and nearly anything nutty. Trader Joe’s Dark Chocolate with 30% hazelnuts is one of my favorite bars.

I add vanilla extract to pancakes, jams, and nearly anything I bake.

I’ve breezed past a few posts about making vanilla extract, but it wasn’t until this one a few days ago that I realized how easy it is!

I bought my bottle of vodka last night (I was recommended Sobieski by the friendly folks over at Friar Tuck: cleaner tasting AND $11.95), and I have 35 Madagascar Bourbon beans and 10 Tahitian beans on their way to my house.

How perfect are these labels?

And these little bottles? Perfectly giftable.

I’ll also love to make the Vanilla Syrup recipe I linked to nearly a year ago!

Finally, once the vanilla pods have left their last bits of flavor behind, I’ll recycle the little nibs into Vanilla Sugar. :)

I’ll be sure take pictures.

Tagged: ,

§ 4 Responses to Vanilla Bean (too many links, not enough pictures)

  • Lindsey says:

    I’m very excited for this endeavor of yours!! I use vanilla in almost everything, too (as I’m sure you knew!)
    I’m on the very last teaspoon of a 16 oz bottle of vanilla extract from the last week of August!
    Also of interest, and possibly do-able from extract by-products, is vanilla bean paste. Along with my powdered vanilla, I hope that it becomes a standby! :)

  • Jess says:

    This sounds awesome! I use the regular amount of vanilla in my chocolate chip cookies, but double strength vanilla. I’m really excited to see how your experiment turns out :)

  • elizabethlacy says:

    I should know in, oh, say, July? Maybe December of next year.

  • elizabethlacy says:

    You’re the vanilla queen! PS – you’re getting vanilla extract for Christmas.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Vanilla Bean (too many links, not enough pictures) at wake up, little sushi..

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

