GeoCities closing

July 10, 2009 § 8 Comments

I have fond memories of biking to the library or a friend’s house and creating websites using “strict HTML” on GeoCities (and Angelfire!). My best friend and I were so proud of ourselves for learning the basics, and we wasted no potential URL name. Another friend made a blog (before the term was coined) that was a great read! It was tedious but elegant.

Myspace is too easy.

I’m a little sad that GeoCities is closing, but that’s how the cookie crumbles.

wishlist

I just deleted this page, but apparently I was an annoying girlfriend who liked dark-colored skirts. The necklace is cute though. I definitely don’t remember making this.

Here are the links that haven’t expired:

http://www.overstock.com/Jewelry-Watches/Sterling-Silver-Star-Pendant/449996/product.html

http://www.overstock.com/Clothing-Shoes/Tempo-Black-Long-Fishtail-Skirt/882607/product.html

http://www.overstock.com/Clothing-Shoes/Pinko-Dark-Grey-Mini-Skirt/880086/product.html

And now I’ve immortalized this now embarrassing phase in my life on my cool new blog that will never go anywhere.

Tagged:

§ 8 Responses to GeoCities closing

  • Jess says:

    that’s sad! I never had one myself, but several friends had some fun sites on geocities.

    hehe I think your assessment of yourself is funny… :)

  • Chuck says:

    I never had one myself either, but I do remember the days. :)

    Does this wishlist still apply? You could send it to Jim. :)

  • Tracy says:

    Who’s Jared?

  • elizabethlacy says:

    The wishlist has definitely expired, along with several of the links.

    Jared was my pre-Jim. :) We’re much better now.

  • joleystar says:

    I never had a Geocities account either, but I knew tons of folks who did. :*( RIP Geocities.

  • Nine says:

    (((hi e))) i miss u :)

  • Mica says:

    Hey Elizabeth (ElizabethLacy?)

    I saw your question on Champaign Taste. I just saw Skinny Cow products at the County Market on Springfield last week. Hope this helps!

    -Mica

  • elizabethlacy says:

    Thank you so much!! :) Sometimes there are just too many grocery stores around here, you know?

    I wonder if Skinny Cow is seasonal….

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading GeoCities closing at wake up, little sushi..

meta

