A Grand Dream

November 3, 2009 § 2 Comments

I’ve never seen the Grand Canyon.

I’ve wanted to see the Grand Canyon since 4th grade when I discovered it was the largest in the world. I’d glare slightly jealously at classmates who would announce it at their summer destination. In 2005 my supervisor at a National Park told me about a unique final exam. I don’t remember the class or anything else about it (*maybe* it was archaeology archeology* of Grand Canyon NP), but he told me that their final exam was to hike from the North Rim to the South Rim. If they completed that, they’d pass. I’m pretty sure that wouldn’t fly now, but I’ve been captivated by the idea since. The closest I’ve been was marked “30 miles” along a highway during a clandestine jaunt to Hoover Dam (just past the “$2 BJs”).

I love rocks, stratigraphy, erosion, topography, and the desert. It’s a no-brainer!

I just saw a flyer on the Quad that reminded me of my “hike the Grand Canyon” bucket list item. I didn’t look too closely, but I found through a little research that Campus Recreation is planning a 6-day hiking trip there in May. I’m not sure if it will go from rim to rim, but the price is right for the service (covers all travel, equipment rental, meals, leadership, etc.). There are some logistics that require consideration (time off, companion?, other trips at that time?), but *maybe* I can scratch this one off my list by June 2010….

*fingers crossed*

 

*I totally don’t know what’s up with the National Park Service, but they insist the word is spelled “archeology” while the rest of the informed world uses the extra “a”.

PS – I totally always want to climb Half-Dome at Yosemite even though it’s made of disgraceful granite.

PPS – too many asterisks in this post.

Tagged: ,

§ 2 Responses to A Grand Dream

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading A Grand Dream at wake up, little sushi..

meta

