41 Hornet Nests

July 23, 2010 § 3 Comments

Earlier I received an email congratulating my work building for breaking the university record of most hornet nests in one location. Yay?

I’m petrified of bees, wasps, and hornets. From the young age of 3 I learned that these bumbly little creatures are NOT FRIENDS. I pet a honeybee with my toe. It was fuzzy! And painful. Since then I have been stung about a dozen times, each time swelling up larger than the last. A few memorable stings:

  • There was the wasp nest in first grade that another kid stepped in. My eye was swollen shut for a week.
  • Brushing my leg in 6th grade I ended up with a softball sized welt. I was unpopular enough as it was. Ol’ gimp leg didn’t help.
  • Riding back from the train station with a friend – later boyfriend – I was stung on my cheek. I looked like a chipmunk: horrifying for a high school sophomore.
  • Hiking in Alaska a bee stung me threw my jeans – the Benadryl made the Matanuska Glacier stop brief.

I’ve paid my dues to our little yellow friends. I’m hopeful an angry recently evicted hornet doesn’t find me today.

>:|

And of course this one’s no help:

"WARNING! HORNET!"

Tagged: ,

§ 3 Responses to 41 Hornet Nests

  • Jess says:

    Ack! I hope you escape. Hehe kitty is very interested in the cup and what’s under it. I’ve really only had one horrible yet funny experience with a bee.

  • Jessica says:

    Awww *bee* safe! lol sorry! I have horrible memories of being stung by a bee when I was young as well, but that was the last time I think. Can’t believe you’ve had so many stings! I do hope you manage to evade the hornets today! <3

  • Dee says:

    Oh my gosh! I hope no stings happen today! yikes.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading 41 Hornet Nests at wake up, little sushi..

meta

