Mid-Late Summer Garden Update

August 18, 2010 § 5 Comments

Early this year when I bought bell pepper seeds I selected a 5-in-1 packet of green, red, yellow, white and purple peppers. I ended up planting several in hopes of getting at least one green and one red/yellow plant. We ended up giving away four and keeping four for our garden. We’re still waiting to see what colors three of the gifted plants are, but one is yellow. Up until Friday I thought we had three green peppers and one purple.

I’m not sure what prompted this, but when I was watering on Friday I discovered this:

Wha? Where did you come from?

When I looked closer at all of the peppers I discovered that another supposed green pepper plant was turning yellow, two of the purple peppers were turning red, and the jalapenos were also turning!

bell pepper canopy

As for the rest of the garden?

The basil’s getting a bit out of control:

these need a trim. pesto time?

If the planter looks out of control, it is! For the past few weeks it always has ripe tomatoes and green beans.

I love going to the backyard for fresh tomatoes! I’m going to miss these days when the snow falls.

Tagged:

§ 5 Responses to Mid-Late Summer Garden Update

  • Meg says:

    I love peppers! I wish I had a yard so I could grow them.

  • Dee says:

    Awww, I want fresh veggies from the garden! Can I come over? ;)

  • rose silver says:

    I love your banana peppers they are really perfect! I can’t wait for my peppers to flower and produce peppers. My tomatoes have blossom end rot and I don’t know what to do to them.

  • melanie toy says:

    Peppers are my favorite! I planted of it in my garden and they are looking great but yours are really big and healthy. I just hope that they are like my peppers too.

  • Chillies! Your chillies look really great! My bell peppers and jalapeños are also doing fine~! However, my tomatoes are having a hard time coping with the extreme heat we are having in Philly. But the peppers are doing a feat producing a lot of spicy fruits. LOL

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Mid-Late Summer Garden Update at wake up, little sushi..

meta

