Etsy Alchemy

August 30, 2010 § 8 Comments

That Chloe girl in Colorado posted pics of an Ann Taylor Loft necklace a while back that caught my eye. Sadly, it was not until it had gone on sale and sold out that I decided I wanted it. Doh!

Enter Etsy Alchemy.

Alchemy is Etsy’s board for posting custom item requests. You enter a description (in my case, a link to this picture), your price range, and time frame. Sellers submit bids and you select the one that best fits your project. Bids typically include details about materials used, price breakdown (deposit, shipping, etc.). Within a day or two I closed bidding since I had about twelve bids. Some bids were easy to decline (a silver-plated wire with Swarovski crystal briolettes sounds lovely but not what I had in mind at $150) but I ended up with several promising bids.

Once I settled on a seller we communicated in more detail and the seller produced a mock-up.

Gunmetal or rhodium-colored chain?

Rhodium it is. (Love the clasp!)

After a few more adjustments (even including the gracious seller letting me send it back for a length adjustment once I realized the necklace weight) I have my perfect bauble necklace.

And it’s even better than the original.

If you’re curious, the seller I ended up selecting was Christina from Element4you. I cannot recommend her enough. She was very prompt in responding and, as I mentioned, very helpful with my adjustments. Here are a some bracelets that caught my eye in her shop: sterling silver pearl bracelet, chunky gunmetal bauble bracelet, and bronze freshwater pearl bracelet.

Tagged: ,

§ 8 Responses to Etsy Alchemy

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Etsy Alchemy at wake up, little sushi..

meta

